Sunday, May 27, 2007

Stepping off the Floor, Members of Congress Take Shots at Clays Instead of Each Other

Washington, DC – Putting partisan bickering aside, the common sentiment echoed by members of the Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus at the 13th Annual Congressional Shoot-Out was that Republicans and Democrats stand united in support of protecting and promoting the rights to hunt and shoot. The event organized by the Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation pits the Democrats against their Republican colleagues on the trap, skeet and sporting clays ranges to establish the straightest shooters on Capitol Hill.

“This is a sight few Americans would expect to see, Republicans and Democrats together enjoying a day of recreational shooting,” commented Jeff Crane, President of the Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation. “But when it comes to hunting and fishing, members of the Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus check their party affiliations at the door.”

As the smoke cleared at the end of the day, the Democrats lead by Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus Vice Chair Congressman Dan Boren (D-OK) won the event for the second time in the last decade. Former Sportsmen’s Caucus Co-Chair Congressman Mike Thompson (D-CA) triumphed as the 2007 individual Congressional Top Gun with a score of 66 broken clays out of 82, followed closely behind by the Top Gun Democrat Congressman Collin Peterson (D-MN) who broke 62 clays throughout the day and Top Gun Republican Congressman John Kline (R-MN) with 60 busted clays.

Throughout each Congressional session, members of the Caucus work together to promote legislation that protects and improves our hunting, shooting and fishing heritage. The Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation and Congressional Sportsmen’s Caucus are currently focused several issues, including recently introduced conservation tax legislation and the upcoming Farm Bill reauthorization.

Democrat Team Shooters
Dan Boren (OK) - Team Captain
Christopher Carney (PA)
Lincoln Davis (TN)
Brad Ellsworth (IN)
Jim Marshall (GA)
Collin Peterson (MN)
Mike Ross (AR)
Bennie Thompson (MS)
Mike Thompson (CA)

Republican Team Shooters
Paul Ryan (WI) - Team Captain
John Carter (TX)
Mike Enzi (WY)
Robin Hayes (NC)
John Kline (MN)
Steve Pearce (NM)
Adam Putnam (FL)
Bill Salli (ID)
Don Young (AK)